Skip to content

Community Council

School Community Council

The Utah State Legislature passed a law in 2000 requiring every public school in the state to establish a School Community Council at the school-site level (Utah Code. Section 53A-1a-108). Each School Community Council consists of the principal, school employees, and parents or guardians of students attending the school. The School Community Council determines their school's greatest academic need and prepares a plan to address that need with the school's portion of the money distributed from the School LAND Trust program.

For more information on School Community Councils, please visit http://www.schoollandtrust.orgOpens in a new window and use this website as an invaluable resource for your School Community Council. It includes information about elections and the responsibilities of council members along with timelines, checklists and other training materials.

A bill passed in the 2015 legislative session giving School Community Councils the responsibility to partner with school administration in creating a safe and constructive internet environment for students. If your council is looking for training options to meet the new Safe Technology and Digital Citizenship requirements, there are resources available at no charge.

School LAND Trust Plan

To view the LAND Trust Plan for Elk Meadows School Year 2019-2020, please see the plan at this link:  School LAND Trust Plan.

To view the LAND Trust Final Report for Elk Meadows School Year 2018-2019, please see the report at this link:  School LAND Trust Final Report.

The following is the Funding Report for the past five years.  All these reports are available on the School LAND Trust website.

School Actual Funding 2015-2016 Actual Funding 2016-2017 Actual Funding 2017-2018 Actual Funding 2018-2019 Current Funding        2019-2020
Elk Meadows Elementary $61,071.00 $65,546.00 $78,873.00 $87,501.00 $100,040.00


2019-20 School Community Council Meetings

All Meetings will be held at 3:45 - 4:45 PM in the Office Conference Room.

  • October 17, 2019
  • November 21, 2019
  • January 16, 2020
  • March 19, 2020 postponed due to mandated school closures - will post when new date has been determined
  • April 1, 2020 new date for March 19 postponed meeting: will be meeting via Zoom

12 Basic Rules of Parliamentary Law

School Community Council Agendas and Minutes


School Community Council Members 2019-2020:

Shannon Bird Parent
Soleidys Chacon Parent
Stephen Mackay Parent
Stephanie Johnson Parent
Kimberly Wimmer Parent
Marianne Dwyer Parent
Lisa Bird Parent
Tiffany Smith Principal
Emily Crane Teacher
Laura Packard Teacher