Skip to content

Community Council

School Community Council

The Utah State Legislature passed a law in 2000 requiring every public school in the state to establish a School Community Council at the school-site level (Utah Code. Section 53A-1a-108). Each School Community Council consists of the principal, school employees, and parents or guardians of students attending the school. The School Community Council determines their school's greatest academic need and prepares a plan to address that need with the school's portion of the money distributed from the School LAND Trust program.

For more information on School Community Councils, please visit http://www.schoollandtrust.orgOpens in a new window and use this website as an invaluable resource for your School Community Council. It includes information about elections and the responsibilities of council members along with timelines, checklists and other training materials.

A bill passed in the 2015 legislative session giving School Community Councils the responsibility to partner with school administration in creating a safe and constructive internet environment for students. If your council is looking for training options to meet the new Safe Technology and Digital Citizenship requirements, there are resources available at no charge.

School LAND Trust Plan

To view the LAND Trust Plan for Elk Meadows, please click on the following link: https://secure.utah.gov/slt-admin/public/reports.html

2018-19 School Community Council Meetings

All Meetings will be held at 3:45 - 4:45 PM in the Office Conference Room.

  • October 4, 2018
  • November 15, 2018
  • January 24, 2019
  • March 21, 2019
  • May 9, 2019

12 Basic Rules of Parliamentary Law

School Community Council Agendas and Minutes

 

School Community Council Members 2018-2019:

Shannon Bird Parent shannonmbird@gmail.com
Jill Burnside Parent jillmburnside@live.com
Soleidys Chacon Parent gusyta_sol@hotmail.com
Adison Christensen Parent adisonchristensen@gmail.com
Marianne Dwyer Parent mariannedwyer74@gmail.com
Stephanie Johnson Parent jednsteph@gmail.com
Stephen Mackay Parent stevemackay_25@hotmail.com
Jamie Thomas Parent jamiezengeresq@yahoo.com
Stephanie Wright Parent stefferella@gmail.com
Aaron Ichimura Principal aaron.ichimura@jordandistrict.org
Annie Otley Teacher anna.otley@jordandistrict.org
Emily Crane Teacher emily.crane@jordandistrict.org
Rebecca Mortimer Teacher rebecca.mortimer@jordandistrict.org
Terri Stephens Teacher terri.stephens@jordandisrict.org
Laura Packard Teacher laura.packard@jordandistrict.org